top of page

StuFLaW 05/08: Catan, xkcd, About

I'm trying out a new series of posts called StuFLaW that release simultaneously with my normal posts, an acronym for Stuff From Last Week designed to make it really hard to press the shift key at the correct time while typing it.* StuFLaW will contain topics from the previous week that are really more suited to a quick paragraph than an entire blog post, but I was thinking about them and wanted to include them. I don't plan on doing StuFLaW each week, but we'll see.**


Anyway, let's get started.


1. Question for you all: I was playing Settlers of Catan with my brother and two other players this weekend. For if*** you aren't familiar with Catan, the main part you need to know is that there are various different resource cards. These resources are used to purchase other things in the game; for example, building a road costs one wood**** and one brick. Anyway, I had this ability to, on my turn, trade two sheep for any one resource from the bank. My brother really wanted bricks. So, I made a deal with him, where he could give me two sheep as well as one wheat in exchange for nothing. Then, on my next turn, I was to trade the sheep for a brick and return it to him. However, I decided to backstab him and keep his sheep for myself. Was what I did ethical? Also, was it cheating? I'm curious what you think, so please contact me with your opinion.


2. Monday's xkcd made me laugh really hard. 

📷


3. I modified the about page a bit, so you might want to check it out if you love new content.


And that's a wrap for StuFLaW this week! I hope you enjoyed it.


–beautifulthorns


*When you type it ten times fast, you'll probably mess it up around eight times. Hit Command-T and try it. The correct answer is StuFLaW. 

**Yes, this paragraph was also almost verbatim in the companion article, the Horse Path Effect. I might paste it at the beginning of each StuFLaW too.

***I love this construct. 

****It might technically be called "timber," but I don't really care. 

8 views

Related Posts

See All

Logo art: The Magic: The Gathering card "Mindshrieker" illustrated by Dave Kendall. It's not that good or interesting a card, I've just always loved the art! 

 

©2019-23 by Chromatic Conflux. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page