top of page

My Own Stunning Website

"Create your own stunning website, with Wix." I'd heard it many times by the time I created my blog this February, especially on ads featuring James Veitch. But to explain why I originally opted for Blogspot, I have to tell the story of how Chromatic Conflux came to be.


How Chromatic Conflux Came to Be

The reason I started this blog was because I felt like I wasn't doing much with my life. I was doing what I had to, but I wasn't creating anything that was mine. I was just living without thriving. This blog provided an outlet to the things I was thinking about. So I guess the blog is really more for me than you all...*


Anyway, when I was deciding on the platform to use, I had a few options. I was pretty sure WordPress was the best on quality, but that cost money. I thought about it for a while, but then I came to the conclusion that I was overanalyzing the situation and I just needed to go with one that was adequate. So I picked Blogspot effectively at random, and I went through the motions. I was pretty sure Blogspot was trendy in 2009 and hadn't been updated since, whereas Wix** was more modern, but that wasn't clearly a bad thing. When my family had a blog from 2009, that was on Blogspot, so it was more familiar in that respect. Maybe that's why I eventually went with it; I don't recall.


I wasn't super happy with the interface of Blogspot, but I figured that was a minor issue that would get settled later on. Anyway, my blog was alive and well, and that was the important part, after all.


Blogspot had two main issues, however, which would be discovered later on:


Issue 1: Subscriptions

On Blogspot, when you select your theme, they give you a display of the front page of your blog. The display is below, and right below it, you can see the actual screenshot. Why don't you see if you can spot the difference or differences. (Ignore font size, cropping, zoom, and other issues that may have conceivably arisen from the screenshotting process.)


Two things. Over on the left, the display*** has "Archive," "Labels," and "Report Abuse" whereas the real deal has just "Archive" and "Report Abuse." The second thing is that the display has a "subscribe" button.****


Several people came to me and said (with some dramatic license), "Hey, Jacob. I noticed your winning wit and personal charm. Because of this, I've wanted to read and comprehensively analyze every word you write. I often forget to check Chromatic Conflux Wednesdaily for the update, though. I wish there was a subscription feature." I thought about doing it manually, but I wanted a better solution.


Issue 2: Commenting

The other main issue was that people were unable to comment. The obvious explanation was that in settings, moderation was turned on. However, when I looked, it wasn't, and that seemed to be saved. Yet the problem persisted. I could have spent an hour making it work using Settings and the Interwebs, but I didn't really want to.


Fighting the Horse Path Effect

These weren't major problems per se. However, a voice in my head was telling me that I could switch and probably mitigate these issues. What was keeping me, I realized, was the same thing that had always kept me: the Horse Path Effect. Why expend a bunch of energy redoing it and moving over the archives when I don't need to? However, this force would only grow. So I bit the bullet and forged my own stunning website. With Wix.


So What Are You Waiting For

Head over to my new blog version! It's located at tinyurl.com/confluxwix. ***** It has an exclusive post about the history of my deceased pet rock, Aubrey, as well as the third edition of StuFLaW. I encourage you to subscribe if you enjoy reading my content–just provide your email at the bottom of the homepage. I also welcome comments and use of the chat feature, though I'm not familiar with that.


Thanks for reading what I wrote. Check out Chromatic Conflux: Wix edition for sure!

–beautifulthorns


*Verbatim from the About page, which is dying along with Blogspot.


**Maybe WiX. Not sure.


***Also some gray text I can't read.


****If I missed a difference, be sure to tell me. I'm not great at Spot the Difference myself.


*****Also:

tinyurl.com/chromconwix

tinyurl.com/chromaticwix

tinyurl.com/myblogwix

tinyurl.com/myownstunningwebsite

beautifulthorns.wixsite.com/home

28 views

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page