top of page
Post: Blog2 Post
  • Writer's pictureJacob Cohen

#70: Crossword; Star Battle; Ambiguous Kropki Pairs Sudoku

Hello, and welcome to Puzzles for Progress!


First of all, if you haven't done the Puzzles for Progress survey, it really does help me know what puzzles to make, and what you all want Puzzles for Progress to be. Thank you to those of you who have filled it out. If you haven't, please do (even a few questions is appreciated) at tinyurl.com/pfp-new-survey-2021!


Second of all, for those of you that don't subscribe to my blog: I put out a post about what math would be like if triangular numbers were the default instead of square numbers, culminating in the derivation of the Trianglish Quadratic Formula. I promise it's fun! (If you like math.) To read it, go to tinyurl.com/confluxblog/post/triangland-where-numbers-are-triangled-instead-of-squared.


Anyway, today's puzzles! I tried to write a crossword where the clues are way too wordy, but the clues ended up only a bit too wordy. It still takes up a lot of space on the page. I also made an approachable Star Battle. And an Ambiguous Kropki Pairs Sudoku, a which is a rule set I wanted to create a puzzle with once I realized a certain property about it. (It relates to the first row of the sudoku.)


Enjoy!


Print the puzzles out from the following pdfs:

Ambiguous Kropki Pairs Sudoku: tinyurl.com/pfp-70c-sudoku


Or here they are, all on one page: tinyurl.com/puzzlesforprogress-70


Alternatively, solve the puzzles online using the following links:

Crossword: tinyurl.com/pfp-70a-crossword-o (Crosshare)

Crossword: tinyurl.com/pfp-70a-crossword-puz (downloadable .puz file for squares.io etc.)

Star Battle: tinyurl.com/pfp-70b-starbattle-o (puzz.link)

Ambiguous Kropki Pairs Sudoku: tinyurl.com/pfp-70c-sudoku-ctc (CTC, recommended)

Ambiguous Kropki Pairs Sudoku: tinyurl.com/pfp-70c-sudoku-fpuz (f-puzzles)


And, as always, the answers: tinyurl.com/pfp-70-answers


Small Details Probably Only Jacob Cares About Corner

I've switched from Crossword Hobbyist to Crosshare for my crossword online interfaces! There's nothing wrong with Crossword Hobbyist, but I wanted to switch to a service with autofill (which I'd somehow never used until now — I mostly made today's crossword on a whiteboard, though). I'd heard that Crosshare gives the constructor stats on which squares are the most commonly solved, so I decided to check it out. Also, it seems like people do find the puzzles on Crosshare (I accidentally made a draft version of this puzzle public and it got on the Crosshare front page before I made it private — I don't actually know whether this is a fluke or whether I can expect all my puzzles to be published), which is pretty cool.


That was probably too interesting for Small Details Probably Only Jacob Cares About Corner, so here's another small detail that really probably only I will care about: the rules for the Ambiguous Kropki Pairs Sudoku are on the left side of the puzzle instead of above it. Even though the crossword isn't fully way too wordy, it still takes up lots of space!


Oh, one more thing that's really minor. On Wix, I've been giving puzzle posts categories for the puzzle types, but it seems like Wix wants me to use tags instead. I'll probably stick with categories anyway for the time being because this is super inconsequential.


77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page